Telephone reservations on:

+49 (0) 6721 . 61 17

  • Our Price
    from 99 €
    from 109 €
    from 109 €
    from 109 €
  • Book now

History close up

Immerse yourself in the eventful history of the castle going back to the 11th century.

Experience Castle-History

Follow in the footsteps of the Kirsch-Puricelli Barons and immerse yourself in castle life – from early modern history to the present. Music room, private chambers, a gallery of ancestral portraits, library – soak up the atmosphere in each fully furnished room. Furniture from the era of Ludwig XV, wine glasses from Roman times, Baroque statues bear witness to a comfortable life at the castle in days gone by and give an impression of the way of life in those times. Enjoy the spectacular views of the Rhine when walking between the battlements of the castle. The Reichenstein museum collection is an important part of German history and Rhineland culture.

Before Reichenstein Castle was aquired by the Kirsch-Puricelli family, it was in the hands of knights, bailiffs, electors and the church for centuries. The notorious robber barons resided at Reichenstein too, as well as Dietrich von Hohenfels who is renowned from the saga of the “Man without a head”. He is said to have been taken prisoner in the castle and beheaded near Saint Clement’s Chapel. In 1253, the castle was destroyed during a battle and later rebuilt. During the reconstruction, the sturdy curtain wall was built which remains intact until today.

The Kirsch-Puricelli family

The Kirsch-Puricelli family initiated the most extensive reconstruction and restorations. They took over Reichenstein Castle in 1899 and had it rebuilt as a neo-Gothic English style castle residence. The family of industrialists resided here until the year 1936. Thanks to their passion for collecting, several extraordinary historical exhibits and even complete collections have remained intact until today. The castle returned into the hands of a descendant of the Kirsch-Puricelli family in 2014.

The family became one of the most successful families in Germany in the 19th century. This was due to their ownership of the Rheinböller Hütte, one of the largest and oldest ironworks of the Hünsrück. The ironworks had been owned by the Kirsch-Puricelli since the 18th century. For this reason, we present you with one of the largest cast iron oven and “Taken platte” (a special kind of stove plate) collections – in part from the 16th century. An extensive collection of old weapons, hunting and armour piercing weapons as well as knights’ and knaves’ armour dating from the era of Napoleon I originate from the beginnings of the castle. From the late Middle Ages until the modern age, hunting was a favourite pastime of the nobility and affluent citizens. This explains the collection of antlers at Reichenstein Castle, which is one of the largest in Germany.

» Read all about the history of Castle Reichenstein

Opening hours

Tues.-Sun. 10:00 – 18:00

Entrance fee

Adults 5.50 €
Children 3.50 €


Every Sunday in Advent

Tours in Advent

See the world through eyes of a child

Tours are free of charge

Telefonische Reservierung unter:

+49 (0) 6721 . 61 17

Historie hautnah

Tauchen Sie ein in die wechselvolle Geschichte der Burg, die bis ins 11. Jahrhundert zurückreicht.

Burggeschichte erleben

Wandeln Sie auf den Spuren der Barone Kirsch-Puricelli und tauchen Sie ein in das Leben auf einer Burg – von der Frühen Neuzeit bis heute. Musikzimmer, private Gemächer, Ahnengalerie, Bibliothek – lassen Sie die einzelnen, voll eingerichteten Zimmer auf sich wirken. Möbel aus der Zeit Ludwigs XV, Weingläser aus der Römerzeit, Barockfiguren zeugen vom damals recht komfortablen Leben auf der Burg und geben einen Eindruck des Wohnstils dieser Zeit. Genießen Sie vom Wandelgang zwischen den Zinnen oben auf der Burg einen herrlichen Blick auf den Rhein. Die Sammlung des Museums Reichenstein ist ein bedeutender Teil deutscher Geschichte und rheinischer Kultur.

Bevor Burg Reichenstein in den Besitz der Familie Kirsch-Puricelli kam, war sie über Jahrhunderte Eigentum von Rittern, Vögten, Kurfürsten und der Kirche. Auch die berüchtigten Raubritter residierten auf der Reichenstein, ebenso wie der Sage nach der berühmte „Mann ohne Kopf“, Dietrich von Hohenfels. Er soll in der Burg gefangenen genommen und neben der Clemenskapelle enthauptet worden sein. Im Jahr 1253 wurde die Burg bei einer Eroberung zerstört und wieder aufgebaut. In dem Zuge entstand auch die massive Schildmauer, die bis heute erhalten ist.

Die Familie Kirsch-Puricelli veranlasste die aufwendigsten Umbauten und Restaurierungen. Sie übernahm 1899 Burg Reichenstein und ließ sie bis 1902 zu einer neugotischen Wohnburg im englischen Stil wieder aufbauen. Bis zum Jahr 1936 residierte die Industriellenfamilie hier. Der Sammelleidenschaft der Familie ist es zu verdanken, dass einige außergewöhnliche, historische Exponate und sogar ganze Sammlungen bis heute erhalten sind. Seit 2014 ist Burg Reichenstein wieder im Familienbesitz eines Nachfahren der Kirsch-Puricellis.

Die Familie stieg im 19. Jahrhundert zu einer der erfolgreichsten Familien in Deutschland auf. Das gelang ihr durch die Rheinböller Hütte, eine der größten und ältesten Eisenhütten des Hunsrücks. Seit dem 18. Jahrhundert befand sich die Hütte im Besitz der Familie Kirsch-Puricelli. Aus diesem Grund präsentieren wir Ihnen im Museum eine der größten Takenplatten-Ofensammlung – in Teilen aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Aus den Ursprüngen der Burg stammt eine umfangreiche Sammlung an alten Waffen, Jagd- und panzerbrechende Waffen sowie Knappen- und Ritterrüstungen aus der Zeit Napoleons I. Vom späten Mittelalter bis in die Neuzeit gehörte die Jagd zu einer ausgeprägten Freizeitbeschäftigung des Adels und wohlhabenderBürger. Das erklärt die Geweihsammlung auf Burg Reichenstein, die zu einer der größten in Deutschland gehört.

» Lesen Sie hier die ganze Geschichte der Burg Reichenstein

Öffnungszeiten

Di-So 10-18 Uhr

Eintritt

Erwachsene € 5,5
Kinder € 3,5

31.12.2017

Silvestergala auf Burg Reichenstein

Galamenü, Weinbegleitung, Feuerwerk u.v.m.

€ 130 // pro Person

Impressionen